Paperwork, Smaperwork

11 Sep

When you have biological kids, why don’t they (“they” is a fluid term ’cause I really don’t know exactly who I am talking about)  fingerprint you and do background checks and check up on your financial status and have someone come to your house to interview you?

I have been putting off starting our paperwork for our homestudy. I have called myself ‘busy’ which is true, but not true enough that I shouldn’t have started.  But…today is the day I sit down and get started.

My character flaw has greatly shining through in this process:  If I don’t know exactly how to do something, I don’t do it… or at least I put it off til the last possible minute.

Today I have the time. Today I begin. Today I make some progress.

8 Responses to “Paperwork, Smaperwork”

  1. Stephanie Patterson September 12, 2011 at 6:13 p09 #

    Becca,
    I miss you and love that I just caught up with your life via your blog. Jason’s cousins, Joey and Destiny recently adopted 2 girls from Ethiopia after working alongside an orphanage as missionaries over the last few years. Really excited for you. I will be praying for you!

  2. Nicole B. September 12, 2011 at 6:13 p09 #

    In my opinion only, they SHOULD put you through the same ringer to bear biological children as they do for those wanting to adopt. A child is a child, and not every parent is fit. Luckily, that’s up to God to decide, and not us!

  3. jennyewalt September 13, 2011 at 6:13 p09 #

    What a hassle! We are praying for you! xoxo

  4. Kristen Leonard September 15, 2011 at 6:13 p09 #

    Ugh, I know! I hated all the paperwork…and classes, and meetings…we’re headed to Utah in a week and a half to finalize everything…so glad to have an END in sight after having Faith for 7 months!

  5. Lori Jo September 18, 2011 at 6:13 p09 #

    love the new look 🙂 ❤

  6. jennifer September 21, 2011 at 6:13 p09 #

    Oh I know! My husband and I even had to do psych evaluations (taking 5 hour psych tests!) with adopting through Catholic Social Services. We are coming to the end of the “paperwork process” and it feels great! So just remember, there is an end to the paperwork. 🙂

  7. Andrea Bernard October 29, 2011 at 6:13 p10 #

    Just wanted to leave a note to say I’m thinking of you guys and still praying for you. Will check back again soon! 🙂

  8. Lisa Maxfield November 4, 2011 at 6:13 p11 #

    Hey!! Ive been thinking about you lately…(because the ‘no corporal punishment’ thing came up in our paperwork and I know we talked about that!) So I am so Happy to know that you are still trucking along! It is hard and the paperwork is very overwhelming…every time I think Im finished and see the light at the end of the long, dark tunnel, I get slammed with more! SO … we are still trucking too, PLEASE tell me if you want any help, or anything and I would love to try to be there for you in any way that I can! We are getting so close Its almost scary :/ So how are you? How are you feeling? Hope you are realizing that what you are doing is amazing and your life will never be the same! Not only because you are saving a child from a life without a family but because of what that child will be for YOU. 🙂 Im SO EXCITED for you guys! Keep on keepin’ on. DO YOUR PAPERWORK!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

